Read of the Week – 4/20/11

ZATANNA #12


Story: Matt Sturges
Art: Stephane Roux,
Covers: Amanda Conner
Publisher: DC

A $2.99 Comic

I can’t say I have a strong history with the Maid of Magic, Zatanna.  She was a character I was familiar with, but she always seemed more of supporting character, but thanks to Paul Dini’s love for the character, she has finally gotten her own ongoing series.  Now a year old, I have been picking it up, and have been enjoying it.

The book has a light tone, even when dealing with some pretty dark and macabre subject matter.  Zatanna often fights demons and other supernatural threats.  Some of her foes would not seem out of place in The Spectre, or even Neil Gaiman’s Sandman.  But here, her approach is much more, shall we say, entertaining.   Her cover as a Stage Magician certainly feeds her showmanship when fighting whatever groovy ghoulie she finds her self up against.  In this issue, guest creative team Matthew Sturges (JSA AllStars, Jack of Fables, his novel Midwinter) and Stephane Roux, give us a peak behind the curtain at Zatanna’s process.  (Flashcards of words backwards!).  Though her foe in this particular issue was little more than thug with a gimmick tailor made to take on Zee, it was fun to see how her clever solution manifested itself in some of her wildest and silliest spells, all ending with the perfect onomatopoeic panel for Zatanna. Sturges has made a name for himself as writer who handles the fantastical mixed with the mundane world. He loves to mix magical elements with everyday things for comic effect and for dramatic tension. He has also earned his superhero stripes with Blue Beetle and the JSA.

Artwise – For a guest artist, this issue looked pretty strong. Now I have always like Jamal Inge’s work on this title, but it’s great to know that Stephane Roux is there in the wings whenever Inge needs a break or if he decides to leave the book (hopefully far) down the line at some point.

Fans of Buffy, Angel and Charmed all would enjoy this series, mixing humor and magical battles.

Grade A

What else did I like this week? Glad you asked…

GREEN LANTERN # 65

DC
Story: Geoff Johns
Art: Doug Mahnke & Keith Champagne

The War of the Green Lanterns continues… and now it’s getting real good.
Like the Sinestro Corps War a few years ago, this is a tightly paced story. Like the Sinestro Corps War, it’s limited to the Green Lantern family of books, but like the Sinestro Corps War, it’s a huge story with wide reaching implications for the Green Lantern mythos, yet it’s personal.  This issue finally gets our 4 human GL’s together. They have all had to take off their power rings to stop Krona, the latest in a long line of Mad Guardians, from taking control of them, like he has the rest of the GL Corps. Luckily Hal just managed to snag a ring from each of the other corps for them to use. But which color will they pick? Whose light will they wield? And who will end up in Star Sapphire’s thong?

Grade A-

GREEN LANTERN CORPS #59

DC
Story:Tony Bedard
Art: Tyler Kirkham
The Crayola Crew has arrived.  Hal, Guy, John, and Kyle have all had to take off their green rings, and have taken up a different ring from another corps. Hal has embraced the Yellow power of fear, Guy is seeing Red, Kyle is feeling Blue, and John has joined the Indigo Tribe. (ok that was a hard one to come up with a color gag with) But what chance do our 4 favorite ringslingers have against almost 7200 mind controlled GL’s. Including one famous for not socializing.

Grade A-

POWER GIRL 23

DC
Story: Judd Winick
Art: Sami Barsri

Guest Starring ZATANNA! and SUPERMAN. That old Kryptonian weakness to magic has Power Girl and Superman in trouble. Luckily Zatanna is close by to lend a backwards spoken hand. When all is said and done, Kara makes a decision about her future as Karen Starr!

Grade B+

DOCTOR WHO: A Fairytale Life #1

IDW Publishing
Story: Matt Sturges
Art:Kelly Yates

The Doctor and Amy Pond head off to a vacation world that promises it’s guests a trip to a fairytale world, unfortunately they arrive about a century after the place had to be a quarrentined due to a virus, and the place has gone all Westworld, with the descendants of the survivors having actually adopted the feudal lifestyle their ancestors came to play pretend in.

Grade B

The rest of the Stack..

Batman: #709 – The finale of a cross over between Red Robin and Gotham Sirens. Will Azrael find a righteous person in Gotham in Dick Grayson? Or will he have to destroy it like Sodam and Gammorah?
Fables #104 – So the team is in place to fight the Dark. But what is he doing with Mrs. Sprat?
Gotham Sirens #22 – Another great story interrupted for a pointless crossover.
Justice League of America #56 – The Moon Man continues to rise over the League.
Legion of Super-Heroes #12 – I this is a book that I am going to drop. Not sure yet. I wish I could get into it more.
Teen Titans #94 – JT Krul finally has the team that we all want back together. Things are shaping up for the 100th issue.

About David Vandervliet

Once, King of all these lands, but now I am just an aging nerd. I enjoy talking about my favorite things to geek about, and hopefully I say something to make you think a little too. My favorite things include: Comics, Doctor Who, Star Wars, Star Trek, Science, Astronomy, Math, Music, theatre, movies, writing, baseball, college football (Go Blue!)
Bookmark the permalink.

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Get Comic Booked! |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *